6 Comments
Dec 19, 2019Liked by Trent Reinsmith

1) Do women fighters get covered equally by MMA media? I think in terms of the AMOUNT of coverage, it's equal. But in terms of the TYPE of coverage, no.

2) Do women fighters get the same type of coverage as the men? I don't believe that they do. The coverage of WMMA is often much more image-based (look who got breast implants, look who dyed her hair, look what she's wearing, she only gets fights because she's hot, etc. Very rarely do we see men being judged on their looks (vs. their fighting skills) and I can't remember anyone saying a man was getting a fight because he was hot.

3) Why do you feel one way or another on the coverage of women fighters? I think because men are the majority when it comes to fans and media. It's second-nature to look at a woman and see her physical attributes first. I also think it's because of the way promotions market their female fighters.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Amy. I'm curious about the coverage of women fighters. I think there is a failure/gap somewhere. The coverage based on appearance is lazy/gross/dumb and I don't really grasp how anyone could write in that manner for a reputable site. More or less I'm looking for ways that MMA media can improve in covering women fighters. Thanks!

Expand full comment

I think plenty of reputable journalists are having this kind of discussion in public ways. (Instagram/Twitter/etc)

Expand full comment

All your points are spot on imo.

Expand full comment
Dec 19, 2019Liked by Trent Reinsmith

I think MMA is one of the few sports that generates equal media coverage for both male and female athletes. Unfortunately most media coverage for female athletes of any sport is image biased and MMA follows suit. Conversations such as the one you are generating here will help examine those biases and hopefully highlight the difference between real sports journalism and sensationalized junk food tabloid news.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much for the reply, really appreciate it. I’ll have to focus on some of the stories on women’s MMA and look for this. I think we do comment on the looks of male fighters sometimes, but when we do, it’s mostly about their musculature, I’m going to guess that is not what the comments are when it comes to women. It probably doesn’t help when folks like Cejudo and Covington are using women as objects in their “promos” Thanks again.

Expand full comment